carrot and zucchini bake …

Yesterday was Ash Wednesday – the first day of Lent. Those who observe Lent usually fast or give up certain types of luxuries as a form of penitence for 40 days. I’ll be giving up all food that is sweet. I do this every year during Lent.

A few of my family members are doing the same thing.  The last desserts (our last sweet hurrah) that we ate were gluten free pancakes on Shrove Tuesday (the day before Ash Wednesday).

Anyways, this ‘sacrifice’ will give me the opportunity, during Lent, to try and make some savoury dishes. Wish me luck! If I see a dessert recipe that I really like, I’ll try out the recipe and my work colleagues can enjoy the fruits of my labour.

This recipe comes from Nestle and is so simple to make. It’s light and tasty with good flavours and textures.

Preparation time – 10 minutes; cooking time – 25 minutes; serves 4.

[If you wanted to make a gluten free version, you could substitute the noodles with gluten free noodles/angel hair. Chicken stock will be a good substitute for the chicken flavour sachet.]

Ingredients
2 eggs
1/2 cup (125mL) low fat milk
1 pinch ground nutmeg
1 packet MAGGI 2 Minute Noodles Chicken flavour, broken into 8 pieces
1 medium (120g) zucchini, grated
1 medium (120g) carrot, grated
1/2 cup (60g) grated Gruyere cheese (I used Masdam cheese)

Method
1) Preheat oven to 180°C/160°C fan forced. Grease and base line a 23cm round cake pan with baking paper.


2) Beat eggs, milk, nutmeg and Chicken flavour sachet in bowl.

3) Add noodles, zucchini, carrot, and cheese, mix to combine.

4) Spoon mixture into prepared pan and bake 25 minutes.

5) Turn out; allow to cool, serve cold.

2 days in and I don’t miss the sweets. Yet. Ask me again in two weeks …

“Sometimes. You love a bowl of noodles more than your partner at midnight.” ~ Himmilicious

One response to “carrot and zucchini bake …

  1. mmm…mmmm…it looks delicious! :-)

Leave a Reply

