the lucky cat bar and dim sum …

Last week my friends and I went to the opening/launch of Lucky Cat Bar and Dim Sum – formerly known as Suzie Wong’s Room.

Whilst waiting to be seated we were given complimentary martinis – a green tea martini or a pineapple and cardamon martini. I chose the green tea martini. Very refreshing and much needed as during the day the temperature had hit 34 degrees and it was still quite warm when we arrived.

There are two main eating areas – upstairs (where the main bar is) and downstairs. Our table was downstairs in the cellar. Wow, what a stunning room!

The evening feast started with scallop, prawn and coriander steamed dumplings and vegetable springs rolls. The dumplings were melt-in-your-mouth and tasted so good. I was too busy enjoying those dumplings to take further photos of the dumplings. My bad.

My friend and I ordered the salt and pepper tentacles. If we had known that we were going to get such a generous serving, we would have ordered the one plate to share between us. In saying that though, the salt and pepper tentacles were delicious! It was the stand out dish for me.

The egg fried rice is also a share plate. If you can tackle the whole plate, then all power to you :)

I neglected to take a photo of the vegetable steamed buns (I didn’t order them) but I was assured that they were good.

My other friend ordered the broadbean, bean curd and cabbage dish with a serve of steamed rice. Despite the presence (and lack of warning) about the chilli, she liked the dish. So consider yourselves warned – there is chilli in them beans!

The prawn crackers were free. Who knocks back free food? To earn the crackers, we had to like the Lucky Cat on Facebook and check-in. I was onto it ASAP ;)

The Lucky Cat bar & Dim Sum is a cool and casual place to hang out with your friends and share good food. I’d like to go back and try the steamed buns, the shallot cakes and the long beans. And the Espresso martini …

The Lucky Cat is located on Port Road, Hindmarsh – just out of the Adelaide CBD and next door to the Adelaide Entertainment Centre. You can dine in or take away.

Lucky Cat Bar & Dim Sum on Urbanspoon

Leave a Reply

