paleo donuts …

“Mmm … donuts!”

A few weeks ago I started to see pins, about paleo donuts, on my Pinterest feed. OMG! Who doesn’t love donuts? Especially healthy ones! The pins reminded me that mum had a Ronson donut maker in her pantry. I had to make these donuts!

ronson_donut_maker

I borrowed the donut maker and, much to my disappointment, the donut maker didn’t quite work for me – the batter got stuck. And cleaning the appliance was a nightmare. Bugger! I went looking for donut pans in the stores – no one stocked any. What!?! So I searched online and found both tin pans and silicon pans. Because of the success that I had with silicon muffin pans I opted for the silicon donut pan. I purchased one from eBay. [In hindsight, I should have bought 2. Guess what? There are more of these pans for sale on eBay …]

donut_molds

Anyways, all that was needed now was a recipe to try. Well, there’s no shortage of recipes online. I eventually chose 2 recipes with ingredients that I already had in the pantry. Easy!

These 2 recipes – amazing and quick to make! They’re both one-bowl recipes. The donuts came out perfectly! And they’re paleo friendly :) Perfect mini treats to give to kids. And big kids too ;)

Forget the Krispy Kreme donuts and the Gourmet Glaze donuts – these donuts are the better healthier alternative donuts.

Almond baked donuts

almond_donuts

The recipe is courtesy of Southern In Law.

Ingredients
1 cup (100g) almond meal / flour
3 tablespoons (65g) honey *
2 large eggs (100g)
2 teaspoons vanilla extract
1/4 teaspoon baking soda

* Can also use maple syrup, coconut nectar or agave.

Method
1) Preheat your oven to 150C/300F.
2) Grease your donut pan and set aside.
3) In a mixing bowl, mix together all of your ingredients until smooth.

coconut_flour

honey

eggs+vanilla

baking_powder

mixer

mixed

donut_mixture

4) Fill your donut pans with your mixture, filling each donut cavity 1/2 way full. Tip – the mixture was runny so I used a piping bag to fill the donut mold.

donut_mold

5) Bake for 10-15 minutes, keeping an eye on them and taking them out as soon as your donuts are cooked and a skewer inserted into the middle removes clean. Be sure not to overcook them as they’ll dry out!

donuts.jpg

6) Allow to cool before removing from the tins and eating as they are or top with whatever your heart desires.

These donuts will keep in the fridge or at room temperature for 3-4 days stored in an airtight container. If you live in a really humid climate keep them in the fridge so that they last longer, however, they will keep fine at room temperature if it’s not too hot!

These donuts were moist, light and delicious! I made 12 of these donuts.

Chocolate donuts

The recipe is courtesy of Elana’s Pantry.

Ingredients
¼ cup coconut flour
¼ cup cacao powder
¼ teaspoon sea salt
¼ teaspoon baking soda
4 large eggs
½ cup coconut oil
3 tablespoons maple syrup

Topping – 1/2 cup chocolate chips and 1 tablespoon palm shortening.

Method
1) In a food processor, pulse together coconut flour, cacao powder, salt, and baking soda. (I used a hand mixer.)

2) Pulse in eggs, coconut oil, and maple syrup until thoroughly combined.

wet_ingredients

donut_batter

3) Fill each well of the donut mold half way full of batter. Tip – the mixture was runny so I used a piping bag to fill the donut mold.

4) Bake at 350° for 15-18 minutes.
5) Remove donuts from pan and place on a cooling rack.

6) In a saucepan, melt chocolate chips and shortening. **
7) Drizzle donut with chocolate glaze.
8) Cool and serve.

** I made a chocolate glaze using coconut oil, maple syrup and cacao powder. Mix 2 tablespoons of each ingredient until smooth. Dunk the donuts into the chocolate glaze and place the donuts in the freezer for a couple of minutes for the glaze to set. Yum!!

I made 20 of these donuts.

glazed_donuts

I’m now keen to try out the other 531,000 paleo recipes that are out there …

“The only circle of trust you should have is a donut.”

 

 

One response to “paleo donuts …

  1. Two wonderful more healthy donughts recipes! I also love Elana’s recipes! :)

Leave a Reply

