chocolate salami (salame di cioccolata) …

The inspiration for this recipe came last Saturday afternoon when I stumbled upon Season 2 of the Spring Baking Championship TV show on the SBS Food channel. One of the contestants had to use curry powder in her recipe. She decided to make chocolate salami with dried fruits, nuts and curry powder. Whilst watching her bake I wondered if there was a ‘raw’ chocolate salami recipe that I could try – without the curry powder! Later that night Pinterest got a good working over. I pinned that many chocolate salami recipes it wasn’t funny. All I had to do now was to go through the recipes and pick out the one that I could try. I wanted a gluten free, dairy free and vegan recipe. I found a recipe that I could adapt.

This recipe comes from Vera’s Cooking – however I have tweaked it a bit.

The original recipe consists of dates, prunes, walnuts, coconut milk and vegan dark chocolate.

My recipe has dates, cranberries, walnuts, almonds, pistachios and dairy free choc chips. Very easy to make with a delicious result. It’s a little bit whimsical as you can trick your dinner guests into thinking that’s it’s the real thing. A perfect decadent dessert. Serve with a cup of coffee or tea :)

chocolate_salami_1

chocolate_salami_2

Ingredients
1 cup dates, pitted
1/3 cup cranberries
1/4 cup walnuts, chopped
1/4 cup pistachios
1/2 cup almonds
100g dairy free choc chips
Icing sugar, to coat.

ingredients

Note: I doubled the recipe to make 2 chocolate salami logs.

Method
1) Process the dates and the cranberries together in a food processor until well blended. Tip – soaking the dates in hot water for 5 minutes prior to processing will make it easier for the dates to be processed.

dates_cranberries

2) Put the chocolate chips in a heat proof bowl and place the bowl over a pan of barely simmering water. Stir until the chocolate has melted and the mixture is smooth.

choc_chips

melted_choc_chips

3) Process the nuts until they’re well blended.

mixed_nuts

blended_mixed_nuts

4) Add the melted chocolate and mix well until incorporated.

bowl_of_mixture

add_chocolate

mixture

5) Form the mixture into a log on baking paper. (If you double the recipe, like I did, divide the chocolate mixture in half. I went so far as to weigh the mixture – yep, that’s the Virgo in me!)

logs

6) Roll up the logs in cling wrap and twist the ends to seal. Roll back and forth to make the logs evenly round. Refrigerate for about 2 hours.

sealed

refrigerate

7) Remove the cling wrap from the logs then roll them in icing sugar until coated. Leave the logs at room temperature for about 15 minutes before serving!

coated

coated_

8) You can tie the chocolate logs like a real salami with baking string (there are plenty of instructions on YouTube) or just leave it unstrung. Cut into slices and serve. Enjoy! FYI, it’s a great conversation piece.

Here’s the video that I watched to help me string the salami – go to the 3.05 minute mark > Chocolate salami

strung

This recipe is a keeper. You can use whatever you like to replicate the look of the ‘fat’ in the salami so long as you have the binding ingredients like the dates and cranberries.

These will last in the fridge for up to 2 weeks or you can freeze them for up to a month.

I did try another another recipe. This recipe is courtesy of Giada De Laurentiis >> chocolate dessert salami. I substituted the ‘two 5 inch long plain biscotti, coarsely crushed’ with 70g of gluten free Leda Arrowroot biscuits.

leda_arrowroot_biscuits

The logs are slightly  smaller and the slices don’t hold their form when you cut them. The slices are a bit crumbly. However the flavour of chocolate, orange and coffee is to die for. May have to keep practicing this recipe until I get it right ;)

chocolate_salami_3

chocolate_salami_4

“Late on a Friday night, I’m home with my dog drinking chocolate milk and eating salami slices. I need to get my partying under control.”

 

 

Leave a Reply

